top of page
Search

Rework & Recycle, But Make It Cute!

Updated: Jun 26, 2020

I have found a great way to reuse clothes from my very own closet to create new and trendy pieces! Not only will you be saving money by avoiding the expensive price tags from online retailers, but you will also be honing into your creative skills and creating a handmade piece of your own!


My style and my taste in clothing are an extension of my creativity and being. It's how I express my mood and aesthetic, and just as my mood changes, so does my style. For this specific outfit, I have been dying to purchase a Front-Tie Cropped Cardigan from a number of stores (e.g., Nasty Gal, Princess Polly, Garage), but prices ranged from $20.00 - $40.00. I wanted to find an inexpensive means to adding this special piece to my closet, so I took it into my own hands! I found a calve-length long cardigan with a smooth sheer nude material in my closet that I purchased a few years ago. I wore this piece only one or two times since, and decided to put it to better use! I have been inspired to start "re-working" and "recycling" old clothes to make pieces I adore but can't necessarily afford. I took a few simple steps to re-work this piece into a Front-Tie Cropped Cardigan:


How to Rework & Recycle

1. Crop the piece of clothing into your preferred length, and leave half of an inch of material at the bottom for hemming

2. Hem cropped piece to create a clean line

3. Cut off the string that were attached on the inside on the top shoulder area, and use it has the front-tie!

4. Create slits towards the middle on both sides, and pull the string through

5. Tie a knot, and dress it up!


Hand & Homemade

Recycling old pieces that you either haven't worn many times or aren't in style anymore are incredible and inexpensive ways to get new and trendy pieces into your closet. Reach into your closet before reaching into your wallet!

I styled this top with a long laced bralette under and high-waisted black jeans from Fashion Nova. This top could also be styled with mom jeans, sweats, skirts, etc. If you're ever stuck looking for amazing and affordable pieces, the perfect ones can be in your own closet!






77 views1 comment
bottom of page